AABP Distinguished Service Award

Sponsor: Zoetis
Previous Sponsor(s):
Purpose: Recognizes an individual with distinguished service to AABP and bovine veterinary medicine.
Eligibility: Current AABP Members
Frequency of Presentation: The award is presented annually at the AABP Annual Conference.
Description: This award was established in 1989. Beginning in 1996, it has been given annually by Zoetis to individuals who, through long and continued service, have promoted the goals of the American Association of Bovine Practitioners, and whose accomplishments have served as a model for service to bovine agriculture through organized veterinary medicine. Recipients should exhibit a career of self-effacing commitment to excellence in bovine medicine as evidenced by conscientious involvement in the affairs of the AABP, have demonstrated leadership in keeping organized veterinary medicine abreast of the times, and have peer recognition as an effective ambassador for the bovine practitioner. The award consists of a commemorative plaque.

Nominate someone for this award.


All Award nominations are due by May 30, 2024.


Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
Dale A. Moore Moscow ID 2021
James A. Brett Starkville MS 2020
Christine B. Navarre Port Island LA 2019
Daniel U. Thomson Ames IA 2018
Robert A. Smith Stillwater OK 2017
John M. Davidson Shiner TX 2016
Glenn M. Rogers Graford TX 2015
Jesse P. Goff Ames IA 2014
Robert Van Saun University Park PA 2013
Keith E. Sterner Ionia MI 2012
N. Kent Ames Okemos MI 2011
Mark F. Spire Manhattan KS 2010
James L. Ehrlich Argyle NY 2009
David G. McClary Auburn AL 2008
Rod G. Sydenham Calgary AB 2007
Richard W. Meiring Marysville OH 2006
Bob Larson Manhattan KS 2005
Patty Scharko Columbia SC 2004
Charles E. Gardner Orefield PA 2003
Lloyd L. Knight Hammett ID 2002
Roger L. Saltman Cazenovia NY 2001
L. Mac Cropsey Highlands Ranch CO 2000
Steve Eicker King Ferry NY 1999
Steven C. Stewart WOODBURY MN 1998
Walter M. Guterbock Anacortes WA 1997
Arnold F. Hentschl Harbor Beach MI 1996
Timothy Lesch Belleville IL 1995
Robert B. Bushnell Granite Bay CA 1994
Neil G. Anderson Cheltenham ON 1993
Lawrence J. Hutchinson State College PA 1992
John C. Dahl Madison WI 1991
Samuel Hutchins III Bradford VT 1990
John Fetrow Langley WA 1989