Mentor-of-the-Year Award

Sponsor: Merk Animal Health
Previous Sponsor(s):
Purpose: Recognizes individuals who have dedicated time and expertise to foster the growth, development and success of future veterinarians.
Eligibility: Current AABP Member
Frequency of Presentation: The award is presented annually at the AABP Annual Conference.
Description: This award was instituted in 2007 and is conferred upon those individuals in practice and other veterinary professions who have served as both advisor and role model to pre-veterinary and/or veterinary students. The award consists of a commemorative plaque.

Nominate someone for this award.


All Award nominations are due by May 30, 2024.


Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
Terry J. Engelken Ames IA 2023
Joseph J. Klopfenstein Corvallis OR 2022
W. Mark Hilton West Lafayette IN 2021
Gordon A. Atkins Calgary AB 2020
Charles L. Guard Lansing NY 2019
Sheila McGuirk Dodgeville WI 2018
Dee Griffin Lincoln NE 2017
Sarel Rens van Amstel Knoxville TN 2016
Dean E. Christianson Ashley ND 2015
John Fetrow Langley WA 2014
Robert H. BonDurant Davis CA 2013
Arthur D. Currey Charlevoix MI 2012
Jenks S. Britt Bowling Green KY 2011
Ken Leslie Guelph ON 2010
Dan W. Upson Manhattan KS 2009
Bruce L. Hull Westerville OH 2008
Otto M. Radostits Saskatoon SK 2007