Excellence In Preventive Medicine Dairy Award

Previous Sponsor(s): Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health, Merial
Frequency of Presentation: This award was discontinued in 2021
Description: The awards sponsored by Merial were established in 1982. In 2017, Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health, assumed sponsorship of this award. They consist of a $1500 general scholarship contribution to be made in the name of the recipient to his/her veterinary college of choice and a specially designed bronze plaque in bas-relief given to the recipient. The awards recognize individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Because of differences in management goals and needs, the award was given to recognize an outstanding program for dairy production."

Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
James W. Bennett Rochester MN 2021
Roger S. Thomson Battle Creek MI 2020
Gabe E. Middleton Orrville OH 2019
Ben A. Shelton Olin NC 2018
Frederick J. Muller Sunnyside WA 2017
Gregory J. Crosley Somerset MI 2016
Daryl V. Nydam Freeville NY 2015
Nicholas C. Chuff Ilion NY 2014
Scott P. Tripp Richmond UT 2013
Allan M. Britten MERIDIAN ID 2012
Mark J. Thomas Lowville NY 2011
Jerome M. Gaska Columbus WI 2010
K. Fred Gingrich II Ashland OH 2009
John Day Jerome ID 2008
Robert C. LaDue Cooperstown NY 2007
Alfred D. Harper Dublin TX 2006
Robert C. Fry Kennedyville MD 2005
Leslie E. DeGroff Perry NY 2004
Fernando Alvarez Queretaro 2003
Paul R. Baillargeon St-Louis De Gonzague QC 2002
Gordon A. Jones Sarasota FL 2001
Mark E. Hardesty Maria Stein OH 2000
Harry A. Spencer III Marshfield WI 1999
Mark Wustenberg Bay City OR 1998
George L. Upham Las Vegas NV 1997
Brian J. Gerloff Marengo IL 1996
Connor Jameson Tulare CA 1995
David I. Byers Galax VA 1994
Paul E. Johnson Climax GA 1993
John W. Ferry Belleville NY 1992
David A. Reid Hazel Green WI 1991
James L. Turbok Deckerville MI 1990
Andrew Johnson Green Bay WI 1989
Thomas J. Fuhrmann Tempe AZ 1988
H. Fred Troutt Urbana IL 1987
Kenneth V. Nordlund Madison WI 1986
Leon D. Weaver Montpelier OH 1984
Paul E. Blackmer Granite Bay CA 1983
Elmer Woelffer Oconomowoc WI 1982