Excellence In Preventive Medicine Beef Award

Previous Sponsor(s): Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health, Merial
Frequency of Presentation: This award was discontinued in 2021
Description: The awards sponsored by Merial were established in 1982. In 2017, Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health, assumed sponsorship of this award. They consist of a $1500 general scholarship contribution to be made in the name of the recipient to his/her veterinary college of choice and a specially designed bronze plaque in bas-relief given to the recipient. The awards recognize individual member practitioners or practices that have developed outstanding preventive medicine programs. Because of differences in management goals and needs, the award was given to recognize an outstanding program for beef production."

Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
Christine B. Navarre Port Island LA 2021
John D. Bolinger Tipton MO 2020
Breck D. Hunsaker Grace ID 2019
John E. Crews Ft. Meade FL 2018
Robert G. Gukich Lake Wales FL 2017
Thomas A. Portillo Amarillo TX 2016
Arnold F. Hentschl Harbor Beach MI 2015
Dan Goehl Canton MO 2014
Randall Spare Ashland KS 2013
W. Mark Hilton West Lafayette IN 2012
Troy H. Drake Rockyview County AB 2011
Stephen D. Lewis Canyon TX 2010
David N. Rethorst Wamego KS 2009
Thomas H. Noffsinger Benkelman NE 2008
K. Shawn Blood Edmond OK 2007
Calvin Booker Okotoks AB 2006
Gary P. Rupp Oak NE 2005
Thomas B. Hairgrove Bryan TX 2004
Wade A. Taylor Oakley KS 2003
Robert P. Kerschen Greeley CO 2002
Ben B. Norman Davis CA 2001
James W. Furman Alliance NE 2000
P. Timothy Guichon Okotoks AB 1999
David T. Bechtol Canyon TX 1998
Robert A. Smith Stillwater OK 1997
James Sears McLouth KS 1996
Terry J. DeGroff Burwell NE 1995
Julie M. Weikel Princeton OR 1994
Rodney G. Oliphant Offerle KS 1993
Craig Rowan Weiser ID 1992
Conrad J. Ferreira Cottonwood CA 1991
Charles E. Deyhle Jr. Canyon TX 1990
G. K. Jim Okotoks AB 1989
Del Miles Greeley CO 1988
Richard E. Shirbroun Winterset IA 1987
Dee Griffin Lincoln NE 1985
Donald E. Williams Perryton TX 1984
Mark F. Spire Manhattan KS 1983
Robert E. Bohlender N. Platte NE 1982