Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health
Bovine Practitioner of the Year Award

This award was established in 1978 and has been given annually. Sponsors of the award have included Diamond Scientific, Syntex Animal Health, Fort Dodge Animal Health and now Boehringer Ingelheim Animal Health. It consists of a diamond ring and commemorative plaque. Candidates for the award must be bovine practitioners in active practice and the following criteria are evaluated:

  1. Recognition for merits in the past year, but recognizing that some things are not completed in one year - it may take 2 or 3 years.
  2. Consider the volume of practice that is bovine in nature.
  3. Quality and competency of veterinary service. What fellow veterinarians think of him/her.
  4. Activities in organized veterinary medicine, licensing boards, specialty boards, etc.
  5. Case or scientific reports during the current or previous year.
  6. Contributions to continuing education in the profession during the past year.
  7. Relationship and contribution to the bovine industry (dairy and beef).
  8. Legislative activities during current or previous year that affect the cattle industry and bovine practice.
  9. Any achievement or report in previous year that has an impact on the industry in the current year.

Nominate someone for this award.

Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
Patrick M.R. Comyn Madison VA 2020
Arn A. Anderson Bowie TX 2019
Henry J. Ceelen Kemptville ON 2018
Norman A. LaFaunce Modesto CA 2017
Frank J. Schenkels Shubenacadie NS 2016
Stephen D. Lewis Canyon TX 2015
Mark E. Hardesty Maria Stein OH 2014
Tom R. Latta Spearman TX 2013
Earl Aalseth Lake Stevens WA 2012
Donnie L. Gardner Huddleston VA 2011
Joseph J. Klopfenstein Corvallis OR 2010
Garold H. Koester Cadillac MI 2009
G. K. Jim Okotoks AB 2008
Wayne S. Shewfelt Tavistock ON 2007
Randall H. Hinshaw Rockingham VA 2006
James  Cole Tompkinsville KY 2005
David A. Rhoda Evansville WI 2004
Robert A. Smith Stillwater OK 2003
Samuel E. Strahm Pawhuska OK 2002
John W. Ferry Belleville NY 2001
J. Ewen Ferguson Campbellford ON 2000
Thomas J. Fuhrmann Tempe AZ 1999
Andrew Johnson Green Bay WI 1998
Del Miles Greeley CO 1997
Paul E. Blackmer Granite Bay CA 1996
Alvin J. Edwards Kearney NE 1995
Arden J. Nelson Laporte CO 1994
Edwin G. Robertson Harrogate TN 1993
Jenks S. Britt Bowling Green KY 1992
Keith E. Sterner Ionia MI 1991
Donald J. Klingborg Davis CA 1990
Robert H. Keith Monroe WI 1989
Gordon A. Atkins Calgary AB 1988
Robert L. Darlington Wickenburg AZ 1987
Darrel E. Johnson Marshfield WI 1986
John B. Herrick Scottsdale AZ 1985
James A. Jarrett Rome GA 1984
William V. McElroy Lamoni IA 1983
Leland C. Allenstein Whitewater WI 1982
David T. Bechtol Canyon TX 1981
Arnold F. Hentschl Harbor Beach MI 1980
Ben D. Harrington Raleigh NC 1979
Edward F. Sterner Ionia MI 1978