Amstutz - Williams Award

Sponsor: Association of Bovine Practitioners
Previous Sponsor(s):
Purpose: The award was established in 1986 by the American Association of Bovine Practitioners in honor of Dr. Harold E. Amstutz who served the AABP as secretary-treasurer and executive vice president until 1993, and Dr. Eric I. Williams who was the editor of the Bovine Practitioner and Annual Conference Proceedings from 1969 until 1998. The award was made to recognize the long and distinguished services of the two honorees.
Eligibility: Amstutz-Williams award nominees/recipients must be veterinarians and AABP members.
Frequency of Presentation: The award will only be presented when a highly qualified individual is nominated and selected.
Description: The Amstutz-Williams Award will be the highest honor bestowed by the AABP. The recipient is selected for outstanding contribution to bovine (cattle) veterinary medicine, cattle industries and the AABP. The award consists of a hand-carved wooden bull.

Nominate someone for this award.


All Award nominations are due by May 30, 2024.


Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
Robert A. Smith Stillwater OK 2022
Dee Griffin Lincoln NE 2021
M. Gatz Riddell Jr. Auburn AL 2016
Samuel Hutchins III Bradford VT 2008
John L. Noordsy Sioux Falls SD 2004
James A. Jarrett Rome GA 2003
Donald E. Williams Perryton TX 2001
Otto M. Radostits Saskatoon SK 1998
Ben D. Harrington Raleigh NC 1996
Elmer Woelffer Oconomowoc WI 1994
Leland C. Allenstein Whitewater WI 1989
Harold E. Amstutz W. Lafayette IN 1986
Eric I. Williams Stillwater OK 1986