Bovine Practitioner of the Year Award

Sponsor: Boehringer Ingelheim
Previous Sponsor(s): Scientific, Syntex Animal Health, Fort Dodge Animal Health
Purpose: Recognition of career excellencein bovine practice including the delivery of individual animal and/or group level preventive and production medicine services
Eligibility: Veterinarians who are members of AABP and in private practice
Frequency of Presentation: The award is presented annually at the AABP Annual Conference.
Description: The award was established in 1978 to recognize practicing veterinarians who demonstrate excellence in beef and/or dairy practice. It recognizes present and past achievements in an individualís bovine practice career, as well as the respect an individual has earned from their veterinary colleagues for their mentorship and support. The award also embraces an individualís activities in organized veterinary medicine, licensing boards and specialty boards, as well as the presentation or publication of case and/or scientific reports. Other important considerations for the award are an individualís contributions to bovine continuing education, the development of herd/production unit management strategies, and the improvement of the beef and/or dairy industries. Finally, the award also considers other achievements and initiatives such as the development and/or implementation of legislative or management programs that positively impact the veterinary and livestock industries. The award consists of a commemorative plaque, jewelry and a $1,500 scholarship from the sponsor to the college of veterinary medicine of the recipientís choice.

Nominate someone for this award.


All Award nominations are due by May 30, 2024.


Past Award Winners

Award Recipient City State Year
Jodi Wallace Ormstown QC 2023
John Groves Eldon MO 2022
Kelly Barratt AYTON ON 2021
Patrick M.R. Comyn Madison VA 2020
Arn A. Anderson Bowie TX 2019
Henry J. Ceelen Kemptville ON 2018
Norman A. LaFaunce Modesto CA 2017
Frank J. Schenkels Shubenacadie NS 2016
Stephen D. Lewis Canyon TX 2015
Mark E. Hardesty Maria Stein OH 2014
Tom R. Latta Spearman TX 2013
Earl Aalseth Lake Stevens WA 2012
Donnie L. Gardner Huddleston VA 2011
Joseph J. Klopfenstein Corvallis OR 2010
Garold H. Koester Cadillac MI 2009
G. K. Jim Okotoks AB 2008
Wayne S. Shewfelt Tavistock ON 2007
Randall H. Hinshaw Rockingham VA 2006
James  Cole Tompkinsville KY 2005
David A. Rhoda Evansville WI 2004
Robert A. Smith Stillwater OK 2003
Samuel E. Strahm Pawhuska OK 2002
John W. Ferry Belleville NY 2001
J. Ewen Ferguson CAMPBELLFORD ON 2000
Thomas J. Fuhrmann Tempe AZ 1999
Andrew Johnson Green Bay WI 1998
Del Miles Greeley CO 1997
Paul E. Blackmer Granite Bay CA 1996
Alvin J. Edwards Kearney NE 1995
Arden J. Nelson Laporte CO 1994
Edwin G. Robertson Harrogate TN 1993
Jenks S. Britt Bowling Green KY 1992
Keith E. Sterner Ionia MI 1991
Donald J. Klingborg Davis CA 1990
Robert H. Keith Monroe WI 1989
Gordon A. Atkins Calgary AB 1988
Robert L. Darlington Wickenburg AZ 1987
Darrel E. Johnson Marshfield WI 1986
John B. Herrick Scottsdale AZ 1985
James A. Jarrett Rome GA 1984
William V. McElroy Lamoni IA 1983
Leland C. Allenstein Whitewater WI 1982
David T. Bechtol Canyon TX 1981
Arnold F. Hentschl Harbor Beach MI 1980
Ben D. Harrington Raleigh NC 1979
Edward F. Sterner Ionia MI 1978